Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Geoffrey A. Landis is the 2014 winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award

 Geoffrey A. Landis to Receive 2014 Robert A. Heinlein Award

Geoffrey A. Landis, science fiction author and scientist working for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), is the 2014 winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award is bestowed for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. This award is in recognition of Mr. Landis’ body of work including five books, 83 short stories and 76 poems in the SF field as well as over 353 science fact publications.

The award will be presented on Friday, May 23, 2014 at opening ceremonies during Balticon 48, the Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention. Balticon and the Robert A. Heinlein Award are both managed and sponsored by The Baltimore Science Fiction Society.

The Robert A. Heinlein Award is a sterling silver medallion bearing the image of Robert A. Heinlein, as depicted by artist Arlin Robbins. The medallion is matched with a red-white-blue lanyard. In addition, the winner receives two lapel pins for use when a large medallion is impractical, and a plaque describing the award, suitable for home or office wall display.

Winners of the Robert A. Heinlein Award:
  • 2014 Geoffrey A. Landis
  • 2013 Allen Steele and Yoji Kondo
  • 2012 Stanley Schmidt
  • 2011 Connie Willis
  • 2009 Joe Haldeman and John Varley
  • 2008 Ben Bova and Spider Robinson
  • 2007 Elizabeth Moon and Anne McCaffrey
  • 2006 Greg Bear and Jack Williamson
  • 2005 Jerry Pournelle and Larry Niven
  • 2004 Arthur C. Clarke
  • 2003 Michael Flynn and Virginia Heinlein

More information on the Robert A. Heinlein Award, including past winners, can be found at

More information on Geoffrey A. Landis can be found at
More information on Balticon can be found at


Geoffrey A. Landis said...

Thanks, John!
That's an august group to be in the company of.

Diane said...

Geoff, that is terrific news. Congratulations!


The poet doesn't invent. He listens. ~Jean Cocteau