Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Rubbertop Review accepting submissions

Rubbertop Review – volume one contributors - 2009

Sandra Bannister
Kate Birdsall
Tara Broeckel Ooten
Colleen Clayton-Dippolito
Alex Cox
Grant William Currier
Susan Grimm
Amy Kesegich
Kaitlynn Lane
Matthew Meduri
Robert Miltner
Ramona Paul
Katrina Phillips
Katherine Schweitzer
James Winter
Julia Wise
Joshua M. Young

Featuring interviews with
David Giffels
A. Van Jordan
Imad Rahman
For details about obtaining copies, please e-mail Professor Eric Wasserman, Rubbertop's faculty advisor:


Calling All Ohio Writers! Rubbertop Review: An Annual Journal of The University of Akron and Greater Ohio blends tradition with innovation and is looking for excellent craftsmanship in fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction.

Each issue of Rubbertop will feature 1/4 of its content from undergraduate and graduate students at The University of Akron. The remainder of the journal will feature the very best of work by writers living in Ohio.

We will consider submissions from any Ohio resident. No university affiliation is required; we solely consider the quality of writing and the passion for the craft.

Submissions are accepted September 1 – February 1.

When submitting please keep to the following guidelines:

– 3-5 poems only
– Short fiction or creative nonfiction should not exceed 4,000 words
– No attachments, please. Paste your submission directly into the text of your e-mail. If your work is accepted we will ask for an electronic file.
– Include a brief description of you and your work before your submitted piece
– Electronic submissions only. Please e-mail the appropriate editor and in the subject line put your name and genre (i.e., Fiction – Jane Smith). Akron students should make their affiliation clear in the subject line (i.e., UA Poetry – John Smith).

As we are a small journal, please respect our ability to only give payment of one (1) contributor’s copy for accepted pieces. All authors included in each issue will be invited to read their work at our annual release party in the spring.

We look forward to reading your work.

Rubbertop Staff

Editor-in-Chief: Tara Kaloz

Fiction Editors: Shurice Gross & Cody Rush-Ossenbeck

Poetry Editors: Joel Lee & Ramona Paul

Creative Nonfiction Editor: Marissa Marangoni

Rubbertop Advisor
Eric Wasserman

Rubbertop Review holds an annual essay contest for undergraduate students at The University of Akron. The contest is always judged by an accomplished Ohio writer. Information on the contest for volume two of the journal will be forthcoming in September, 2009.

Any questions about the contest may be sent to Rubbertop Editor-in-Chief Tara Kaloz at, or Rubbertop Faculty Advisor Eric Wasserman at

No comments:


The poet doesn't invent. He listens. ~Jean Cocteau